HKBU
繁體 简体 English
Home > Special projects of the University > Jockey Club Creative Arts Centre
Jockey Club Creative Arts Centre
 

The Jockey Club Creative Arts Centre (JCCAC) is an arts project spearheaded by the University for the community, with the Hong Kong Arts Development Council and Hong Kong Arts Centre as its strategic partners. Located in the former Shek Kip Mei government factory estate, the artist village, the first of its kind in Hong Kong, commenced operation in March 2008. The Centre aspires to become a hub of arts and culture in Hong Kong, and has the missions of providing studio space for local artists and art groups, nurturing creative arts talents, and promoting arts and culture in Hong Kong.

 
 

The University received a funding support of $94.4 million from The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust (HKJCCT) for the renovation works of the decommissioned factory building. The Centre is managed by an HKBU subsidiary company with charitable status, Hong Kong Creative Arts Centre Limited, and operates on a self-financing basis. Home to some 120 artists and art groups of diverse art forms ranging from fine arts, applied arts, media arts to performing arts, the Centre also has supporting facilities such as the Black Box Theatre, two exhibition galleries, and the Central Courtyard for organising programmes and activities. A small percentage of the rental space, mainly on the entrance level of the building, is reserved for commercial outlets such as cafeteria and a Chinese tea house.

The Centre opens seven days a week to the public, from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m., and closes only on Chinese New Year holidays.

 
 

GAO has been involved in the project since its early days, which includes preparation of submissions to the Government and the HKJCCT, participation in the initial stage of planning and implementation of the project through servicing as the secretariat of the project’s steering committee and later in the governing board of the Centre, and providing assistance to the recruitment of the first batch of the Centre’s staff and artist/art group tenants. The Director of General Administration serves on the governing board as one of its directors, attends the regular management committee meetings as an observer, and assists the Vice-President (Administration) and Secretary in liaising with government departments and other organisations on related matters.

 

 

 

Hong Kong Baptist University

香港浸會大學
繁體 简体 english
首頁 > 大學發展項目 > 賽馬會創意藝術中心
賽馬會創意藝術中心

JCCAC

賽馬會創意藝術中心是由香港浸會大學負責策劃,為社區建設的一個「藝術村」,並獲得香港藝術發展局及香港藝術中心加入為項目策略夥伴。中心於2008年3月啓用,是全港首個「藝術村」,宗旨是成為區內的文化藝術樞紐,為藝術家及藝術團體提供工作坊,為香港培育創意藝術人才,及推動文化藝術事業。

JCCAC

創意藝術中心由賽馬會慈善信託基金慷慨捐助九千四百四十萬作為經費,將空置的石硤尾政府工廠大廈改建成「藝術村」。中心由大學成立具慈善機構資格的附屬公司 – 香港創意藝術中心有限公司 – 負責以自負盈虧的方式營運,為藝術家及藝術團體提供約120個單位,供他們在純藝術、應用藝術、媒體藝術以至表演藝術等領域一展所長;此外,中心亦設有藝術設施,如黑盒劇場、兩個畫廊及中央表演場地等,供舉辦各類型藝術項目及活動之用。在中心地面層亦有數個單位供商户租用,現時用作經營咖啡屋及茶館等。

中心每星期七天,由早上十時至晚上十時對外開放,只在農曆新年假期休息。

JCCAC

行政處於項目萌芽時已積極投入工作,包括撰寫計劃書向政府申請使用工廠大廈,及向賽馬會慈善信託基金申請撥款,並擔任項目督導委員會及早期創意藝術中心董事局秘書工作,協助中心招聘首批員工及初期招租事宜。行政處處長代表大學出任中心董事局成員,並以此身份列席中心管理委員會會議,及協助行政副校長就相關事宜聯繫政府部門及外界機構。

 

香港浸會大學