A list of decisions made by the Council at its meeting on 14 March 2017

Appointments/reappointments to the Council committees and board

1. The Council confirmed the decision made through the circulation of a paper to approve the following appointments/reappointments to the Council committees and board commencing 9 February 2017 and to formally invite the respective members to serve on them:

<u>Appointee</u>	Expiry date of the term of appointment
Audit Committee	
Mr. Arthur K. Lee	31.12.2019
Rev. Dr. Mok Kong-ting	31.12.2017
Dr. Jennifer C.Y. Ng	31.12.2019
Mr. Paulo K.Y. Pong	31.12.2019
Campus Development and Facilities Ma	anagement Committee
Ms. Scarlett O.L. Pong	31.12.2018
(as Deputy Chairman)	
Mr. Arthur K. Lee	31.12.2019
Rev. Dr. Mok Kong-ting	31.12.2017
Mr. Paulo K.Y. Pong	31.12.2019
Dr. Benson W.K. Wong	31.12.2018
Ms. Sandy H.Y. Wong	31.12.2019
Finance Committee (FC) Mr. Paul W.Y. Poon*	31.12.2017
(as Deputy Chairman) Prof. Adrian Bailey	31.12.2018

^{*} Also as the *ex officio* Deputy Chairman of the Investment Sub-committee upon taking up the Deputy Chairmanship of the FC.

Honorary Degrees Committee

Prof. Rick W.K. Wong	31.12.2018
Dr. Roger H.F. Wong	30.6.2018

Personnel Committee (PC)

Mr. Andrew C.F. Yao [#]	31.12.2019
(as Chairman)	
Ms. Karen S.T. Tang	31.12.2018
(as Deputy Chairman)	
Mr. Nelson H.S. Lai	31.1.2020
Prof. David K.Y. Lee	31.12.2019
Prof. Clayton MacKenzie	31.5.2019
Dr. Jennifer C.Y. Ng	31.12.2019

^{*} Also as an *ex officio* member of the Standing Committee and the *ex officio* Deputy Chairman of the Superannuation Fund Supervisory Board upon taking up the Chairmanship of the PC.

Principal agent for managing the building of The Tsimshatsui District Kaifong Welfare Association

2. The Council confirmed the decisions made through the circulation of a paper to approve the recommendation of the FC to accept the collaboration with The Tsimshatsui District Kaifong Welfare Association, and the arrangements for authenticating the affixing of the University's common seal for the collaboration.

Affixing of the University's common seal to the No-objection Letter pertaining to the assignment of the University's shares of Tseung Kwan O Town Lot No. 91 to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

- 3. The University withdrew in 2015 from a collaborative project with The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) to build a hostel block on Tseung Kwan O Town Lot No. 91 to provide 520 places for students, of which 150 places were to be reserved for Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU). The University decided that the 150 places would instead be provided in a hostel and academic building complex proposed for the site on the northern portion of the former campus in Kowloon Tong of Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (Lee Wai Lee) reserved by the Government for the University. HKBU holds 150/520th parts or shares of the lot in Tseung Kwan O. Once the land title is transferred to HKUST, it will reimburse the University for its contribution to the cost of the joint project.
- 4. The Council confirmed the decisions made through the circulation of a paper to approve the affixing of the University's common seal to the No-objection Letter pertaining to the assignment of the shares of the lot held by the University to HKUST, and the arrangements for authenticating the affixing of the University's common seal.

Acceptance of donation

5. The Council resolved to approve the acceptance of a donation of a NOVA 7-tesla preclinical magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system valued at \$20 million from Mr. Simon S.M. Yeung of Time Medical Systems. The NOVA system is a special high-field MRI system for preclinical animal research and would be used to advance and enhance the University's research capability in biomedical areas.

Proposed changes to the HKBU Statutes

- 6. The Council resolved to approve the following revisions to the *HKBU Statutes*:
 - (a) To update the membership composition of the Senate and the Faculty/School Boards by replacing the title "Vice-President (Academic)" with "Provost" as a follow-up to the recent change of the senior management structure (par. 1(b) of Statute IV and par. 1(c) of Statute VI);
 - (b) To update the name of the Students' Union to its formal name "Hong Kong Baptist University Students' Union" in relevant statutes on the membership composition of the Court and the Senate (par. 1(h) of Statute II and par. 1(q) of Statute IV); and
 - (c) To enable the Council Deputy Chairman, Treasurer, Provost or Vice-Presidents to preside at the Commencement in the absence of the Chancellor, the Council Chairman, or the President and Vice-Chancellor (par. 3 of Statute VIII).

Reappointments to the Council of Beijing Normal University – Hong Kong Baptist University United International College

7. The Council resolved to approve the following reappointments to the Council of Beijing Normal University – Hong Kong Baptist University United International College:

<u>Members</u>	Approved term of
(Current positions at HKBU)	<u>reappointment</u>
Mr. Cheng Yan-kee	1 April 2017-
(Council Chairman)	31 March 2019
Prof. Huang Yu	1 April 2017-
(Associate Vice-President and Dean of Communication)	31 March 2019
Prof. Roland T. Chin	1 September 2017-
(President and Vice-Chancellor)	31 August 2019

Appointment to the Task Force on Review of the Hong Kong Baptist University Ordinance

8. The Council approved the appointment of Dr. Benson W.K. Wong, staff-elected Court Member and Assistant Professor in the Department of Government and International Studies, as a Member of the Task Force on Review of the Hong Kong Baptist University Ordinance for a term from 14 March 2017 to 31 December 2018.

Additional candidates for Honorary University Fellowship in 2017

9. The Council resolved to approve the recommendation of the Honorary University Fellowship Committee to award Honorary University Fellowships to two additional candidates in 2017. The list of awardees for 2017 will be announced in due course.

Additional candidate for HKBU honorary doctorate in 2017

10. The Council resolved to approve the recommendation of the Honorary Degrees Committee to award an honorary doctorate to an additional candidate in 2017. The list of recipients for HKBU honorary doctorates in 2017 will be announced in due course.

Hong Kong Baptist University (Haimen) Institute of Science and Technology

11. Noting the latest development at the Hong Kong Baptist University (Haimen) Institute of Science and Technology (IST), the Council approved the new collaboration agreement entered into between the University and the Haimen Municipal People's Government, Jiangsu Province on 20 January 2017. Under this new agreement, the Haimen Biotech and Pharmaceutical Park of Riverside New District of Haimen City has become a strategic partner and base of the University for industry, academia and research. The IST was deregistered and ceased operations on 31 January 2017.